Skip to content Skip to navigation

Japanese Language Program (JLP)

The Japanese Language Program (JLP), from basic to intermediate levels, is designed based on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR), with language proficiency levels equivalent to A1, A2, and B1, divided into three levels as follows:

  • Japanese for Beginners | Level N5
  • Elementary Japanese    | Level N4
  • Intermediate Japanese  | Level N3

Objectives: The program aims to train learners to be able to use Japanese for daily communication, academic and work purposes in a professional environment. It also aims to equip learners with the skills necessary to achieve international Japanese language proficiency certifications.

Course Structure: depending on the students' initial proficiency, the courses are as follows:

  • Japanese for Beginners | Level N5 modules: JPN05.1 - JPN05.2 - JPN05.3 - JPN05.4
  • Elementary Japanese    | Level N4 modules: JPN04.1 - JPN04.2 - JPN04.3 - JPN04.4
  • Intermediate Japanese  | Level N3 modules: JPN03.1 - JPN03.2 - JPN03.3 - JPN03.4

Program content: The program covers all four language skills - Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing, along with language practice activities designed to achieve the objectives:

  • Pronunciation: Standard pronunciation training.
  • Grammar: Mastery corresponding to each level.
  • Vocabulary: Approximately 4,500 words to meet the necessary requirements for communication and study.
  • Listening and Speaking: Conversations, topic-based presentations, speeches, discussions, and more.
  • Reading Comprehension: Enhancing vocabulary, general knowledge, pronunciation, intonation, and answering questions.
  • Writing: Composing short essays of around 100 - 500 words based on lesson themes in academic and professional contexts.